ETAD, Learning, Professional Development, Reading

And The Learning Continues…Summer Professional Reading

http://www.flickr.com/photos/simon_cocks/4867695239/sizes/z/in/photostream/

Ahhh…Summer! You truly are my favorite season. You provide me with so much opportunity…and the gift of time. Time to spend with family, time to relax, rejuvenate, reflect and learn. I so enjoy learning in the summer. It is learning at my own pace, and in my own direction. Learning that is blissfully all for me. It truly is a “choose your own adventure” kind of time.

For the past few months I have been placing books on my self to be read when I have a moment and those moments have been few and far between. The stack of promise titles continued to grow and grow holding within them my wonderings, curiosities and interests. Now as the summer is so very close at hand I have pulled them off the shelf and placed them in my book bag ready to accompany me on my summer adventures. Don’t get me wrong these titles do not represent the whole of my reading plans for this summer. There are many personal, just for fun books that I plan to devour. However, I really do enjoy reading professionally over the summer as well. Summer reading usually takes place on a beach, on my deck overlooking the pool, or curled up in bed long after the house is quiet. Reading in these places inspires me to savor the ideas, make connects, and stop to dream. No other time for reading gives me such joy.

My plan is to share my readings and learning as I finish each title through this blog. To really Learn Out Loud. And now as summer and my reading adventure is so blissfully close I wanted to open my reading bag and share my treasures with you.

  • Creative Is a Verb: If You’re Alive, You’re Creative by Patti Digh- This recommendation came to me via Karen Hume‘s amazing blog.
  • Who Owns the Learning?: Preparing Students for Success in the Digital Age by Alan November
  • Passion Based Classroom by Angela Maiers- This one is my first e-Book purchase so I am doubly excited to curl up with this book.
  • Switch How to Change When Change Is Hard- by Heath and Heath
  • Imbedded Formative Assessment by Dylan Wiliam– I had the pleasure of learning from Dylan Wiliam himself when he was in Saskatoon this past spring. I was inspired by his message and look forward to keeping the learning going.
  • Talk About Understanding: Increasing Classroom Talk to Increase ComprehensionElin Keene
  • Opening Minds by Peter Johnston- I am excited to read this book and participate in the Cathy Mere’s online #Cyberpd book club
  • Classroom Habitudes: Teaching Learning Habits and Attitudes in 21st Century Classrooms by Angela Maiers
  • Finding Your Leadership Focus: What Matters Most for Student Results by Douglas Reeves
  • Now I Get It: Strategies for Building Confident and Competent Mathematicians, K-6 by Susan O’Connell
  • Hard Goals by Mark Murphy
  • Project-Based Learning by William Bender
  • The Power of Teacher Teams by Vivian Troen and Katherine Boles
  • Creating Innovators by Tony Wagner
  • Visible Thinking in the K-8 Mathematics Classroom by Ted Hull, Don Balka and Ruth Harbin Miles
4 thoughts on “And The Learning Continues…Summer Professional Reading”

  1. Can’t wait for your reviews on the books as you read them! Currently trying to get through my own stack of summer reading, so will add them to my list depending on your review! šŸ˜‰

  2. I agree with Shannon — this is a terrific idea, and a wonderful idea to share it with others. I wonder what is in others’ adventure bags? I’ve got a couple that I’ve started, but now may have the time to finish. I’ll be checking out “What Technology Wants” (Kevin Kelly), Pierre Berton’s “The Depression Years”, and “The Art of Watching Films (Boggs & Petrie). And then I plan to leaf through your list and pick off a few!

    1. Thanks all for your feedback and recommendations. I look forward to seeing your lists and hearing about your summer reading adventures. Summer is so close now…and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

