Instructional Leadership, Professional Development

Model the Way- Ways Leaders can Support Learning in Education

I recently heard about a challenged issued by Scott McLeod to all Edu-Bloggers inviting them to write posts on Leadership in Education.  This challenge inspired me to reflect on my own personal beliefs, values and ideas about leadership, technology, and education.  I wondered about what effective K-12 technology leaders do? What actions and behaviors make them effective leaders in the education and in technology?
What are some of the tools I use to facilitate my leadership, understanding and ability to support teachers? Below is my list of things I believe leaders can do to help support the learning in their schools, divisions, and community.  This learning is bigger than technology, bigger than curriculum, bigger than professional development.  It is about becoming a lifelong learner and empowering others (staff and students) to follow your lead. 

Develop a Personal Learning Network (PLN)- Learning is a collaborative process and as such administrator’s cannot be an island. They need to foster and maintain relationships with others that support the sharing of ideas, solving of problems and consideration of multiple points of view. Leaders need to think about creating these networks of learning within their schools both for their teachers and for themselves. As well, leaders need to think and connect with others outside of their buildings within their division (district), and globally.  I have found that making connections and building relationships with others face to face and virtually has been the greatest single factor in my personal growth over the past year.  One of the best ways I have found to connect virtually has been through  Twitter. Twitter has allowed me to create a Personal Learning Network with educators from around the world who are willing to support, question, and expand my thinking.

Be a Life Long Learner– Read the ideas of others, engage in conversations about education, ask questions, seek answers, wonder. Administrators  need to be constantly modeling what it means to be a life long learner and find ways to harvest the ideas of others and share them with your staff. One tech tool that I have found that supports my learning has been Mobile RSS App on my iPad and iPhone.  This app allows me to access my Google Reader anywhere, at anytime. 

Model the Way–  Serve to inspire those around you by modeling and using technology yourself. If you think self reflection is important, and believe that blogs are a great tool to facilitate this then do one yourself and share it with teachers, parents, students, your PLN.  It is very important that leaders don’t just talk about change but model what change looks like everyday. 

Problem Solve– Remove barriers or help your teachers find ways around them.  Any technology you use can have glitches associated with it that make it hard for teachers and students to manage.  As leaders, we should always look for ways to help teachers as they learn and if necessary support them in finding ways around problems.  Leaders need to be about finding solutions not about wallowing in problems.  Twitter can help and support you and your staff in becoming problem solvers. Always be willing to ask for help.

Build on the Strengths of Students and Staff– Do not work from a deficit model.   Honor the learners and what they bring to the building everyday by supporting them in ways of using technology to enhance what they already do well. Provide opportunities for teachers and students to share their passions and learning with others. Chances are that their passions will spark learning and risk taking in others.

Start Today – Change and authentic technology integration does not happen over night but it needs to start today.  It is no longer acceptable to ignore the learning opportunities technology enhances in our schools.  Leaders need to expect and support the authentic integration of technology into the curriculum.  Some examples of possible ways to get the ball rolling and support teacher discussions might be:

  • creating a school Diigo account or a Livebinder  that all staff can contribute to and share links
  • facilitating techy lunch hours where educators can come together to learn something new, explore possibilities and brainstorm ideas
  • start a book club

Know the destination– Leaders need to have a good understanding of the aims and goals of curricula,  as well as the broad areas of learning and cross curricular competencies so that they can support teachers in uncovering ways that  technology can enhance, support and differentiate student learning.   Without an understanding of the learning destination it is easy for the technology to become the main focus.  Technology is not an end to itself rather it serves as a tool to enhance student learning of enduring understandings and curriculum. This doesn’t mean that leaders need to have all the knowledge or answers about curriculum but they do need to have a working understanding.  Leaders need to be able to ask questions, and encourage discussion and without knowledge of learning destinations this is an inauthentic task.  The Saskatchewan Ministry of Education Understanding Outcomes Document is a great place to start. In addition to the curriculum the ISTE NETS are a great roadmap to support teaching and growing professionally development in our ever increasingly digital world.

Get Dirty– Get in there and work WITH your staff and students.  Teaching and co-teaching in the classroom will allow leaders to move from theory and ideas into practice.   Having first hand knowledge of the successes and hardships in the classroom will support become a more knowledgeable leader as well as a better advocate for staff and students.

Be a Connector – Connect people to passion, learners to learning, curriculum to tools, educators to educators, teachers to time, classes to classes. 

Thanks for the opportunity to share my thinking.

3 thoughts on “Model the Way- Ways Leaders can Support Learning in Education”

  1. Hi Jenn,
    Great post, I am so enjoying this series of Leadership in Education posts from everyone! I am spending so much time reading other people’s ideas I don’ t know if I am ever going to have time to write my own. Sometimes I feel like I spend so much time learning from others that I am not sure that I take enough time to reflect on my learning, I guess that might be how those little kiddos feel in my Grade 1 class. Oh well, it’s a goal for the future. In fact, I guess that is always the goal.

    I really enjoyed your thoughts, thank you for sharing and I was hoping to check out the link to the Sask Min of Ed document you mentioned. Both links seem to be to ISTE standards? Thanks!

    Take care,
    Sarah

    1. Fixed!! Thank you for letting me know about that mistake. I really appreciate it.
      As well, thank you for your kind words. I too have been known to read more and write less. Always worried that my thought were not right and worthy of sharing in writing. I am finding however that the more I write the better my understanding is becoming. It is through these conversations with the reader that my thinking is becoming more crystalized and reflective. It does take time and is not without fear but I am learning to just close my eyes, take a deep breath and click Publish.

      Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

