Professional Development

It’s all in a Name…Why I changed mine

Over a year ago I started my Twitter journey and at that time the whole world of PLN’s, digital footprints, and digital collaboration was very new to me.  I really didn’t know what to expect or where this adventure would take me.   When I created my Twitter account I chose a username that spoke to who I was as a professional (teacher) and where I am located (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan).  For over a year I had been know on Twitter as Saskateach and this is the name I became known as to all of my new Twitter friends.  Saskateach became who I was in that virtual world and I was quite happy with that.  Kind of like a secret identity…Jennifer in reality, Saskateach virtually. 

Then I went to the International Society for Technology in Education Conference at the end of June and my virtual world collided with my actual world.  For the first time I was able to meet people who were a part of my PLN in a face to face situation.  I was so excited to meet everyone and wasn’t shy about going up to people I knew and saying “Hi, I’m Jennifer Brokofsky”.  Often people I had talked to so often in Twitterland looked at me with confused looks as they tried to figure out who is Jennifer Brokofsky and why is she standing here expecting me to know who she is???  It wasn’t until I said “Saskateach on Twitter” that the lightbulbs came on and I was greeted with recognition and friendship.  At first I didn’t mind having to connect my virtual and real personas for people but after a while I began to wonder if the apparent disconnect between my virtual world and my real world was what I wanted. 

 If twitter is really all about making connections with people did I want those connections to be with virtual Saskateach or real Jennifer Brokofsky?

I came home from ISTE with much to think about and solicited advice from PLN about Twitter names and if I should change mine.   Let me tell you there was no shortage of opinions.  Some people liked the virtual name and the way it spoke to who I was as a professional.  Most felt that the real name was the way to go provided it is not to long.  Unfortunately, by birth and by marriage my real name is long.  Jennifer Brokofsky is 17 characters long and short of legally changing it, is the name I have.  I debated about shorten versions of my name JBrokofsky (taken), brokofskyj, jennbrok, jbrokof…but none felt right.  I was beginning to understand that this was about my identity and wanting to share who I am with the world so any version that I didn’t have a connection to just would not work.  All of the shortened versions were really not my name anymore than Saskateach was my name.  My thinking was that if I wasn’t going to use my real name then I might as well stick with my virtual Saskateach persona.  

After much internal debate I decided that what I really want is for my Twitter friendships and relationships to be with ME!!! Jennifer, and that I want my virtual world to be an extension of my real world… not separate.  To do this I need to change the name to my name…who I am known by in my real world.  The decision was made to use the Twitter name of @JennBrokofsky.  Brokofsky because it is my last name and Jenn because that it the name all of my friends and family have called me for as long as I can remember…and Twitter is all about making friends and building relationships.  I know it is a bit long and the last name hard to spell…I apologize for that but it is who I am and I won’t apologize for that.

Decision made I feel like I have closed one chapter of my continuing digital adventure but have opened another.  It is my hope that this chapter will be about the melding of two worlds, the deepening of connections, and just being me!

7 thoughts on “It’s all in a Name…Why I changed mine”

  1. Ultimately I’ve struggled with the same thing, but nobody (and I mean nobody) ever spells Andersen right. They all spell it with an “son” … emails, tweets, account names, they are all going into la-la land. So I stick with @busynessgirl … and just embrace the name I gave myself (actually, my husband gave it to me).

  2. Ultimately I’ve struggled with the same thing, but nobody (and I mean nobody) ever spells Andersen right. They all spell it with an “son” … emails, tweets, account names, they are all going into la-la land. So I stick with @busynessgirl … and just embrace the name I gave myself (actually, my husband gave it to me).

  3. Would you say that you have grown in your trust of this virtual world? That is growth in understanding that the negative sides to the web similar to the “real world” and it’s all a matter of “playing safe”?

    1. Not sure if it is so much about my trust as it is about recognizing the power and potential of virtual relationships. I have always had my name connected with my blog and Twitter. Now it is more prominent with the hopes of helping to connect my virtual world to my real one.

  4. Hi Jennifer,

    I’m going to be a real fence-sitter on this one. I’m glad you started out as SaskaTeach because it reminds me of how connected you are to your home and profession. I am also glad to know you as Jennifer Brokofsky because names share another facet of us – personality, heritage and sometimes our chosen affiliations. This makes me think about how important it is to learn children’s real names, eg. Hong versus a Canadianized name such as Henry. By the same token, I like to be called Mme or Mrs Veilleux (by my students) NOT Mrs. V. If you can’t be bothered to learn my name, what does that mean? Knowing someone’s name seems like the most basic level of knowing someone.

    This was a very interesting blogpost – a meta-reflection on your journey as an educator and participant in the Twitterverse. Very thought-provoking.

    Bye for now,
    Ingrid (<– anyone who knows me in person calls me 'Ingrid')

Leave a Reply

