Math

Using 10 Frames for Whole Numbers and Decimals

 

Here is our latest installment of Voice Threads as math journals.  In this example students have demonstrated how 10 Frames can be used to add whole numbers as well as how they can be used to add decimals.  I really like how I can comment on the Voice Thread to give the students feedback and then how they can instantly respond to the feedback.  What a great tool (10 Frames and Voice Threads) for checking for student understanding of a concept.  Click here to check it out.

4 thoughts on “Using 10 Frames for Whole Numbers and Decimals”

  1. Wow, this is great! I love the use of VoiceThread as a form of journalling in math. I didn’t know that you could write over the photos. The combination of the photograph and the student’s annotation helps clearly communicate their understanding. I would guess that the students think this is an engaging way to receive feedback. Bravo!

  2. I love how the students are thinking out loud, and the positive way you are able to redirect the thinking to a more efficient strategy. I still like to get students to write about their work, but this is a great way to dialogue with students, and promote group discussion about strategies. What I would like to see is the students to be able to actually manipulate the coins on the ten frame, rather than just draw circles. Is there a way to do this using Notebook Software with the recorder feature?

    1. Not sure as I am unfamiliar with that program. I agree with you though. If it was possible to combine online game type activities with voice recording that would be amazing. If anyone knows of something that does both I would love to hear about it.

  3. This is fabulous. Thanks for sharing. This would be an excellent addition to a student’s portfolio. I look forward to seeing more.

Leave a Reply

